silver spoons & plastic forks

Salmon sashimi with ponzu dip

In Appetizers, Asian, Cilantro, Finger food, Fish and shellfish, Koriander, My favorites, Salmon, Sashimi, Side dishes, Small dishes, Sushi on November 13, 2011 at 22:00

Of all the food I love, sushi is waaay up there on the love-list. Here is a beatifully simple way to make a melt-in-your-mouth salmon sashimi dish. The ponzu dip is so good that you´ll be tempted to drink the leftovers…

I found the recipe for this on another Norwegian food blogger´s site: Trines Matblogg. As soon as I saw this, I knew I had to make it. And I think I made it 4 times in one week! Yeah… I get hooked. I altered the recipe for the ponzu dip slightly to suit my palate, I suggest you taste it and not to be afraid to add or reduce. (Trine has a lot of other good stuff on her site too! If I don´t know what to cook for dinner, this is one of the places I look for inspiration and ideas.)

What you´ll need for this dish is:

  • sashimi grade salmon (if in Norway, I recommend Salma laks)
  • pan roasted sesame seeds
  • spring onions, thinly sliced
For the ponzu dip:
  • ca. 0.5 dl soy sauce
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 2 TS sugar
  • 2 TS rice vinegar
  • 2 red chili peppers, deseeded and finely chopped (if the ones you use are very hot, I would reduce the amount)
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • a good handful of fresh koriander/cilantro, finely chopped

Start by mixing the dip. You can definitely make this a little ahead of time; It will just taste better if it gets to sit and settle for a little while.

Slice the salmon and arrange on individual plates. Roast the sesame seeds in a dry pan and sprinkle over the salmon. Slice the spring onion as thin as you can and spread it over the salmon as well. I think it´s really nice to make a plate for each guest and give each of them a small bowl with ponzu dip.

Ahhh… this is just so good! I think I might have to make it again tomorrow…

I tried to read a little about pairing wine with sushi, and from what I read I think I could try either a Riesling, a Gewürztraminer, a Pinot Blanc or cold sake with a sashimi dish like this. Fun fun 🙂

Enjoy!
Xoxo, Karen

  1. […] Etter en lang badeøkt, kom middagen på bordet – dagens to-retter var Sashimi av salma laks med ponzu-saus og reddiker. Oppskriften finner du her. […]

Leave a Reply

