Salmon sashimi with ponzu dip

Of all the food I love, sushi is waaay up there on the love-list. Here is a beatifully simple way to make a melt-in-your-mouth salmon sashimi dish. The ponzu dip is so good that you´ll be tempted to drink the leftovers…

I found the recipe for this on another Norwegian food blogger´s site: Trines Matblogg. As soon as I saw this, I knew I had to make it. And I think I made it 4 times in one week! Yeah… I get hooked. I altered the recipe for the ponzu dip slightly to suit my palate, I suggest you taste it and not to be afraid to add or reduce. (Trine has a lot of other good stuff on her site too! If I don´t know what to cook for dinner, this is one of the places I look for inspiration and ideas.)

What you´ll need for this dish is:

  • sashimi grade salmon (if in Norway, I recommend Salma laks)
  • pan roasted sesame seeds
  • spring onions, thinly sliced
For the ponzu dip:
  • ca. 0.5 dl soy sauce
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 2 TS sugar
  • 2 TS rice vinegar
  • 2 red chili peppers, deseeded and finely chopped (if the ones you use are very hot, I would reduce the amount)
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • a good handful of fresh koriander/cilantro, finely chopped

Start by mixing the dip. You can definitely make this a little ahead of time; It will just taste better if it gets to sit and settle for a little while.

Slice the salmon and arrange on individual plates. Roast the sesame seeds in a dry pan and sprinkle over the salmon. Slice the spring onion as thin as you can and spread it over the salmon as well. I think it´s really nice to make a plate for each guest and give each of them a small bowl with ponzu dip.

Ahhh… this is just so good! I think I might have to make it again tomorrow…

I tried to read a little about pairing wine with sushi, and from what I read I think I could try either a Riesling, a Gewürztraminer, a Pinot Blanc or cold sake with a sashimi dish like this. Fun fun 🙂

Enjoy!
Xoxo, Karen

One thought on “Salmon sashimi with ponzu dip

Leave a comment