Oh crêpe!

Crepes

This post is a product of three things: 1) my 5-year old requesting crepes for breakfast 2) the realization that I didn´t have crepes on my blog combined with months and months since my last post 3) it´s Sunday 🙂

I got the recipe from my baby sister when she was about six or seven. No joke. And it is the best crepes recipe I have ever tried! Simple, easy to remember and the first crepe never breaks. That´s close to a miracle in the crepe-making world. At least in mine. They taste really good, and the consistency is the perfect combination of light and moist, sweet and salty. And the best part – they work just as good for breakfast as they do for dinner or an evening meal.

Ingredients (7-10 crepes, a little difficult to count as they kept getting eaten as soon as they were done):

  • 3 eggs
  • 3 TS sugar
  • 3 TS melted butter (real please)
  • 3 dl flour
  • a pinch of salt
  • 4 dl milk 

Ingredienser (7-10 pannekaker):

  • 3 egg
  • 3 ss sukker
  • 3 ss smeltet smør (meierismør)
  • 3 dl mel
  • en klype salt
  • 4 dl melk

Whisk the eggs and the sugar. Slowly add and whisk in the melted butter. You probably don´t want to scramble your eggs by pouring hot butter all in at once! Add the flour and salt, and lastly add the milk –  a little at a time. 

crepe batter

What is it about little kids and batter and dough? it´s like crack to them, I swear! I even remember how I felt about batter. Now I never eat dough or batter. Almost never. Almost.

The batter should be left to swell for 10-30 minutes. It can be left in the fridge over night. It is also a great thing to cook outdoors on a camping stove. Just pour the batter in an empty coke bottle! I like to melt a little butter in the pan before every crepe, even though I have a non-stick pan. I just think they taste better with butter. Go figure. Fry the crepes on medium to high heat (7 out of 10 on my stove top), flipping them when they look dry, start to bubble and have a nice color.

I grew up eating crepes with sugar on, rolled up. They probably taste great with jam or nutella or what have you, but for me…. nothing beats a rolled up crepe with sugar accompanied by a glass of ice cold milk! My son agrees.

Enjoy and have a wonderful Sunday evening!

K 🙂

One thought on “Oh crêpe!

Leave a comment