Two engineers´quest for the perfectly poached egg


5 eggs. A pot of water. A little vinegar (for the pot). 2 intimidated engineers. Some wine (for the intimidated engineers).

After this very scientific approach (seriously, I have notes), and two rockin´ eggs (out of the five), I would say I can draw some conclusions. I am not saying it makes me an expert, after all, 5 poached eggs does not an expert make. However, I think I have enough info so that you can test out the approach and have a decent chance of success. Probably. Hopefully. Just try, ok? If nothing else, I promise you it´s fun 🙂

One thing; why poach eggs in the first place? First of all, I think it has a certain wow-factor on a plate. A boiled egg just doesn´t do the same. But more importantly, the consistency is quite different. The egg whites are all done, but less compact than a boiled egg, while the yolk is perfectly runny (when the egg is done right). It is just delicious!

  • I suggest you crack the egg into a small bowl, that makes it easier to pour the egg into the pot in a controlled manner.
  • In a smallish pot, bring water to just below boiling point (slowly). It is important that the water doesn´t boil, but the temperature shouldn´t drop much either. I have also heard that tall, skinny pots are good for poaching eggs.
  • Add a splash of vinegar to the water (a tablespoon or two). The vinegar helps the egg keep together.
  • Use a spatula or similar to get the water rotating in the pot. Go for a real twister!
  • Carefully plop the egg into the middle of the twister.
  • Don´t panic!
  • Leave the egg in the water for about 3 1/2 minutes, then fish it out and let it drain on a paper towel before serving.

Right after we dropped the egg into the water, and the yolk was spinning crazy – like an orbiting moon, separate from the whites, I must admit there was a moment of panic in Miss Vorraa´s kitchen. But it gets better! I promise… We tried to “help” the whites catch up with the yolk for a couple of the eggs by stirring around the egg, but I honestly don´t know if that really helped.

The one in the upper left corner only got about 3 minutes in the water… Definitely not long enough. The other two there are quite good. When slicing the egg with your knife, the yolk should just slowly ooze out of there. Thickish, but liquid.

This time around was all about technique and practice. We didn´t really make a dish. I really want to make eggs benedict, with home made hollandaise sauce – that will definitely be my next poahed egg adventure! Stay tuned if interested 🙂

But still, we had to eat these eggs after making them. A little serrano and some salt and pepper goes a long way…

It looks good doesn´t is? I can´t wait till next time…

Xoxo, Karen

Leave a Reply

