silver spoons & plastic forks

The what? The who? The snickerdoodle!

In Bakery, Cookies, Kid´s menu, Snickerdoodles, Sweets on December 18, 2011 at 22:33

No one can bake cookies like Americans can. My first childhood memory of American cookies is forever etched into my memory. Growing up we had some American neighbors. They had this cutest little dog called Snip that I used to walk. One day Snip´s owner rewarded me with a box of chocolate chip cookies. Chocolate chip cookies have ever since been my favorite cookie, I mean, it´s nothing short of a classic.

When I moved to Oklahoma to go to college, I had my second cookie revelation: snickerdoodles. It has nothing to do with Snickers, but everything to do with a sugar and cinnamon crispy/chewy heaven!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 ts cream of tartar
  • 1 ts baking soda
  • 1/4 ts salt
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 TS ground cinnamon, more if needed
  • 2 TS sugar, more if needed

400 degrees Fahrenheit for 7-8 minutes.

Norsk:

  • 2.5 dl usaltet smør, romtemperert
  • 4 dl sukker
  • 2 egg
  • 2 ts kremortartari
  • 1 ts natron
  • 1/4 ts salt
  • 6.5 dl mel
  • 2 TS kanel, mer om nødvendig
  • 2 TS sukker, mer om nødvendig

200 grader Celsius i 7-8 minutter.

Kremortartari tror jeg man kan få tak i på apoteket i Norge. Det brukes som hevemiddel, sammen med natron. Man kan eventuelt i en knipe bytte ut natron og kremortartari med bakepulver.

Start by mixing the softened butter and sugar, until it is light and fluffy. You can do this by hand or a mixer (depending on if you want a workout or not). A lot of snickerdoodle recipes I´ve seen have half and half butter and shortening. I have been trying to figure out what shortening really is. Let me put it this way. Whenever you see shortening in a recipe, swap it for butter. Now, that is actually a challenge in Norway these days. As you might have heard, Norway is battling a butter crisis these days. Ain´t that something? I had to scour my fridge, luckily there is always butter in there somewhere (if you can´t get a hold of real butter, I guess you could, in a crisis that is, substitute with margarine…). I wonder how a butter crisis in France would´ve played out… a new French revolution?

Now add the eggs.

Then the cream of tartar, baking soda, salt and flour. It would probably be even better to mix all the dry ingredients together and then add it to the butter/sugar/egg mix.

These cookies are super popular, so I tried to be smart and make many. I quadroupled the recipe. Mhm, you heard me correctly. Now, I must admit that I didn´t really know exactly how much this was going to be. My recipe was in American measurements, so there weren´t any bells going off until I came to adding the flour. When I converted to liters, and my calculations gave me 2.7 liters of flour, I started to get a bit nervous. That´s 11 cups, y´all! You should have seen my line of mass production. Constantly cookies in the oven from 9pm to 2am. It took me a whole day before I managed to actually eat a cookie. Then I got over it and ate many.

SO, I had to switch to a bigger bowl when I started to add the flour. This is a big bowl, the biggest one they have at IKEA.

The finished dough looks something like this:

At this point I refrigerate the dough for 15-30 minutes, this will make the dough firm up and therefore make it easier to roll into small balls. You can also use a tiny ice cream scoop. Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit / 200 degrees Celsius. Mix sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl.

Roll them in the cinnamon/sugar mix so that it coats the whole ball. Lay them on baking parchment on a tray.

Don´t flatten them or anything, they will melt down to perfect little cookies. Just look.

Now this is an important message. Bake for 7-8 minutes , they will not be brown, they will still be rather soft and they should have crackled a bit. Carefully place on a cooling rack, they break easily when they are this fresh.

And if you quadrouple the recipe; 5 hours later you will have about this many cookies:

Let me tell you one thing. Snickerdoodles are the only cookies I´ve made for Christmas this year. Good thing they´re awesome! They have this delicious crispy edges and a wonderfully soft, chewy center.

You can´t possible get any closer to heaven than this! If you´ve never tasted snicker doodles, please please please bake these. You won´t regret it! Your friends will love you. Your family will too. If you let them taste any.

Merry Christmas, Karen 🙂

Leave a Reply

