Cognac and spice-glazed plums

A few days ago I was home at my parents´ and my grandparents stopped by with lots of plums from their backyard, sweet, ripe and fresh off the trees. It is only so many plums one can eat without getting a tummy ache, so I did a little reasearch to get some inspiration. The result; cognac and spice-glazed plums served over vanilla icecream. If I must say so myself, it turned out lovely! So, if the trees in your backyard is heavy with ripe plums… make this! It was easy, I swear 🙂

For dessert for 4-6 you will need:

  • 15-20 plums (mine were kinda small)
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 5 whole cloves
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 150 g sugar
  • 1 dl water
  • 5 TS cognac
Norsk:
  • 15-20 plommer (mine var ganske små)
  • 1 kanelstang
  • 1 vaniljestang
  • 5 stk nellikspiker
  • saft av 1 sitron
  • 150 g sukker
  • 1 dl vann
  • 5 ss konjakk

I used different types of plums, some sweeter than others. Frankly, I think you can use whatever (not that I´m an expert on the subject – I know next to nothing about plums). But I would think you could adjust the sweetness/tartness with sugar and lemon juice according to your taste. No?

Bring water, sugar and lemon juice to a boil in a pot. Add the spice and cook until it turns sirupy and coats a spoon.

Half the plums and take out the pits (are they called pits? See, I don´t even know that…).

Toss the plums into the syrup and bring to a boil, and then remove from the heat. Now add the cognac. If you want this dessert to be alcohol free, you could just let this boil for a few seconds so that the alcohol evaporates. Would I do that? No, certainly not! 😀

Let the plums rest in the warm syrup in the pot for at least 10 minutes, and serve them while they still have a little nice temperature.

Look at the amazing color the glaze has taken from the plums! Just wonderful! Serve them either over vanilla ice cream or even panna cotta.

What can I say? Plums and sugar and spice – and everything nice 😀

Lots of love,
Karen

Leave a Reply

