Don´t mess with Texas-cake

How many recipes are there for chocolate cakes? Thousands? Hundreds of thousands? Correct answer? Never enough 🙂

This one is of the dark, moist, seductive kind. And it´s sneaky. It grabs hold of your tongue, possessively, and doesn´t let go until you take a big gulp of ice cold milk… But even after that it leaves you unsatisfied, yearning for more…

Good thing this recipe is for a big pan! 😀

  • 400 g butter
  • 4.5 dl water
  • 8 TS cocoa
  • 9 dl sugar
  • 9 dl flour
  • 1 ts salt
  • 2 ts baking soda
  • 2 dl sour creme
  • 4 eggs

Bake at 200 degrees Celsius / 390 degrees Fahrenheit for about 40-45 minutes.

Icing:

  • 150 g melted butter
  • 6 TS milk
  • 4 TS cocoa
  • 350 g powdered sugar
  • 1 ts vanilla sugar
Norsk:
  • 400 g margarin
  • 4.5 dl vann
  • 8 ss kakao
  • 9 dl sukker
  • 9 dl mel
  • 1 ts salt
  • 2 ts natron
  • 2 dl rømme
  • 4 egg

Bakes ved 200 grader i 40-45 minutter.

Glasur:

  • 150 g smeltet smør
  • 6 ss melk
  • 4 ss kakao
  • 350 g melis
  • 1 ts vaniljesukker

Start by bringing the water and butter to a boil.

Then add the rest of the ingredients, the eggs last.

Pour into a big, deep, rectangular pan, the ones that are the same size as your oven. Bake at 200 degrees Celsius / 390 degrees Fahrenheit for 40-45 minutes. Stick a match or a chop stick into the cake to check if it is done. While the cake cools a bit we can make the icing.

Start by melting the butter, then just stir in the rest of the ingredients. Bring to a boil.

Now, please pay attention. Here comes an important step – this will ensure little heavenly pockets of icing throughout the cake. Take a chop stick and go to town – prick the cake full of holes.

I don´t know if you can tell, but my 2-year-old helped me with this hol(e)y cake. Hey, happy kids make for happy parents, right? Now just pour the icing over the cake.

If you are worried that there are too many holes and that all that lovely icing will “disappear” into your cake, you could always just make a little extra icing.

I know Norwegians swear to coffee with their cakes, but I gotta hand it to the Americans here… serve this one with ice cold milk instead! Hell yeah.

The piece you see in that picture is about all anyone got to enjoy of this cake, by the way. The plan was to bring the cake to a BBQ at some friends´house. The efficient mama I am; I am trying to get Noah to walk up the basement stairs in front of me, I have his stroller in one hand, the cake in the other hand and my purse over my shoulder. We make it to the top of the stairs and all of the sudden I am standing with the lid and handles in my hand – no pan, and no cake. The cake is upside down in the gravel. All that lovely icing peppered with rocks. Yup, I almost cried. I think Noah could tell because he bent down to me, put my face in his hands and asked: you ok, mama? That made it a little better, and helped me to remember that I can always just make another one 😀

PS. Thanks for the recipe, Ingrid! 🙂

Karen ♥

Leave a Reply

