Swedish brownie cake

The first time I had this cake I was in Amsterdam visiting some good friends from Finland (and no, this is not one of those types of brownies!). Finnish friends that I met in Oklahoma. Yes, Sanna, I am talking about your Swedish brownie cake 🙂

I somewhat remembered the recipe (I think) and have baked the cake many times over after that wonderful weekend in Amsterdam. Ready for a truly international cake?

Ingredients:

  • 125 g melted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1.5 dl flour (gluten free if you´d like – you won´t even taste the difference!)
  • 3 dl sugar
  • 3 TS cocoa powder
  • 1 ts vanilla sugar

Norsk:

  • 125 g smeltet smør
  • 2 egg
  • 1.5 dl mel (med fordel glutenfritt!)
  • 3 dl sukker
  • 3 ss kakao
  • 1 ts vaniljesukker

Start by mixing the melted butter and eggs in one bowl and the rest in another.

Then mix the two together. It just doesn´t get any easier than that! Well… maybe if you get a helping hand:

He was very helpful, focused even. I was very grateful. I love him 🙂 (In case you were wondering… In Norway we don´t worry about “raw eggs in cookie dough” issues – we just eat it 🙂 Isn´t it lovely?)

Now butter a cake pan and pour/spoon in the batter.

As a busy working mother, it is absolutely crucial to be able to multitask. My afternoon went something like this: Run from the office to the car to try to beat the traffic in order to make it to day care before closing. Drive home. Toss some spagetti in a pot, and heat up leftovers from yesterday (yes, I do that sometimes). While the spagetti was boiling I made the batter for the brownie cake (actually I doubled the recipe so that I could bring one to work to share with my lovely colleagues).

I then put the cake in the oven, at 175 degrees Celsius / 350 degrees Fahrenheit to bake for about 30 minutes. Key lesson: making this cake demands about the same effort as cooking spagetti. Now, you can do that, can´t you? 😉

I brought the best cake to work with me, so the one I could “slice and dice” for a photo shoot was kind of thin. I sort of ran a little short of batter, but I´m over it. It was kind of like a brownie cookie, while the one I brought to work was more like a brownie is supposed to be: gooey and chewy. Both good, but if you are like me and prefer the latter, I have the following advice: When the cake has been in the oven for about 20-25 minutes, use an oven mitt and shake the cake pan a little. If it still moves quite a bit, leave it in a little longer. Keep testing every couple of minutes or so. When you see that it is only the very center of the cake that still “shivers” a bit when shaken, it is done. Take it out and let it cool a little.

Even though the cake doesn´t necessarily need any more, you could certainly glam it up a little. May I propose adding some caramelized chopped walnuts to the batter? Or chocolate chunks (white, milk or dark)? Macadamia nuts? Mhm, yes yes 🙂

Peace and love,

Karen

4 thoughts on “Swedish brownie cake

  1. Fantastisk kake! Jeg må gi fra meg oppskriften hver gang jeg baker den 🙂 Har lagd den mange ganger og nå putter jeg også 1/3 ts salt og 1/4 ts chilli i den. Mmmmmm 😉

Leave a Reply

