silver spoons & plastic forks

Chocolate cobbler: a success story!

In Cakes and pies, Chocolate, Desserts, Sweets on October 17, 2010 at 22:42

Finally, after a birthday party and a nice long fall break in Spain with our great friends, I have resumed the position:

On the couch, my favorite blanket over me, my macbook on my lap and a cup of tea beside me. And the movie “Coco avant Chanel” playing in the background. Writing about chocolate in the absence of chocolate required a little side-tracker… Chocolate lovers; brace yourselves.

Chocolate cobbler:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 ts baking powder
  • ¼ ts salt
  • 7 TS cocoa powder
  • 1 ¼ cup sugar
  • ½ cups milk
  • ⅓ cups melted butter
  • 1½ ts vanilla extract (or about 3 ts vanilla sugar)
  • ½ cups brown sugar
  • 1½ cups hot tap water

Norsk:

  • 1 kopp mel
  • 2 ts bakepulver
  • ¼ ts salt
  • 7 ss kakaopulver
  • 1 ¼ kopp sukker
  • ½ kopp melk
  • ⅓ kopp smelta smør
  • 1½ ts vaniljeekstrakt (eller ca 3 ts vaniljesukker)
  • ½ kopp brunt sukker
  • 1½ kopp varmt vann fra springen

Step 1: Start by mixing together the flour, baking powder, salt, 3 tablespoons of the cocoa, and 3/4 cup of the white sugar. Save the remaining cocoa and sugar for step 2. Stir in the milk, melted butter, and vanilla to the flour mixture. Mix it until it looks like a brownie batter, a pour/spoon it into a fitting dish. I used a souffle-dish, as it felt like the right thing to use. It looks right, doesn`t it?

Now mix the remaining white sugar (1/2 cup), the brown sugar, and remaining 4 tablespoons of cocoa in a bowl and sprinkle this mixture evenly over the “brownie-batter”.

Now, I am gonna need you to trust me: Pour the hot tap water over this. AND DO NOT STIR! I know it sounds and looks weird, but just do it, ok?

Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit / 175 degrees Celsius for about 40 minutes or until the center is set.

Let it stand for a few minutes before serving it with vanilla ice cream. WORD!

I swear to God, I think the sugar/cocoa powder melts and caramelizes in some way, creating the richest, most mouthwatering, liquid chocolate caramel you can imagine. Have I convinced you to make this yet? If not, send me your number and I will call you up and have you measuring up your cocoa-powder in no time!

Leave a Reply

