BBQ chicken with wild rice and sugar-roasted walnut salad

What to do with left-over BBQ chicken…? We had some beautiful weather in Stavanger this weekend, so we just had to BBQ yesterday. As always, we ended up making too much food, so I had 4 good pieces of charcoal-grilled BBQ chicken on my hands today. What to do, what to do… After rummaging through my fridge and cupboards, I had some romaine lettuce, rocket salad, wild rice and walnuts laying on my counter.

BBQ chicken (it would probably be great with some grilled chicken breast as well…)

  • 1 cup of wild rice
  • 3 1/2 cups of water
  • 1 cube of chicken buillon
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Rocket salad
  • 1 cup of walnuts
  • 1 TS of butter
  • 1 ts sugar
  • Olive oil
  • Modena balsamico
  • Sea salt

Norsk:

  • BBQ kylling (sikkert også godt med stekt eller grillet kyllingfilet…)
  • 2 dl villris
  • 5 dl vann
  • 1 terning kyllingbuljong
  • Grønn salat
  • Ruccola
  • 1 kopp valnøtter
  • 1 ss smør
  • 1 ts sukker
  • Olivenolje
  • Modena balsamico
  • Havsalt

The wild rice needs to cook for abour 40-45 minutes in plenty of water. I added a cube of chicken buillon to the water for a little added flavor. Remember to NOT salt the water if you use buillon. When the rice is done, it needs to be strained.

In a hot pan I threw in the butter, about a cup of walnuts and a sprinkle of sugar. After the walnuts were coated and slightly roasted I let them cool a little.

In a bowl I mixed the lettuce, rocket salad and the sugar-roasted walnuts, and tossed this with some olive oil and balsamico.

On the plate I spooned some rice next to the chicken, then layed some salad on top of the rice. A light sprinkle of sea salt over the salad, and voila! I found that the buttery, sweet walnuts were well balanced by the peppery rocket salad, the earthy wild rice and the sea salt. My husband almost forgot to eat the chicken!

Leave a Reply

