4-clover chocolate cake (“Firkløverkake”)

I know, I know… It is a risky post this close to bikini-season, but I baked this cake for Oda Elise´s first birthday party so I´m posting anyway. Happy birthday, OE! 😀

This is a dangerously, mouthwateringly moist chocolate cake with a hint of spice. And, what a bonus, it is easy to make! Few ingredients (many of them you´ll probably have in the house), short time in the oven, and no need to wait for the cake to cool down before you poor the icing over.

Ok, here we go.

Cake

  • 1 liter buttermilk (1 quart, that is, for any American readers…)
  • 6 cups of sugar
  • 6 cups of flour
  • 1 cup melted butter (I use real butter for baking, no margarin!)
  • 3 TS baking soda
  • 1 1/2 TS cinnamon

Icing

  • 200 g Freia Firkløver (this is about 7 ounces of a Norwegian milk chocolate with chopped hazelnuts in it, I guess a different brand would work as well)
  • 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream
  • 1 cup of powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup of butter

Norsk:

Kake

  • 1 liter kulturmelk
  • 6 kopper sukker
  • 6 kopper mel
  • 1 kopp smelta smør (jeg bruker skikkelig smør til baking, ikke margarin!)
  • 3 ss natron
  • 1 1/2 ss kanel

Krem

  • 200 g Firkløver
  • 1/2 kopp fløte
  • 1 kopp melis
  • 1/2 kopp smør

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius / 390 degrees Fahrenheit.

I start with pouring the buttermilk into a large mixing bowl, and then adding the baking soda. Stir and let this sit for about 5 minutes, it will fluff up a bit. In the meanwhile I measure up the rest of the ingredients. Then mix in the sugar, flour, melted butter and cinnamon. Don´t panic if there are some lumps in your batter. You see, there were some in mine too and it turned out ok…

Pour the batter onto a sheet of waxed paper in a big, deep baking pan (mine was 35×40 cm, 13×15 in). Bake for 25-30 minutes. Once the cake is out of the oven, I start on the icing.

Throw all of the ingredients for the icing into a good pot (be careful- it burns easily!), put over low-medium heat and stir constantly. Did I mention it burns easily? Bring to a boil, and then remove from the heat. When I baked this cake with my mom and she told me to boil the icing, I must admit I was sceptical. I feared it would curdle or separate or something, but it went surprisingly well! Instead it seemed like the powdered sugar caramellized just a tad, so it gave the icing a creamy, chocolate-y caramel flavor. Yum! I would fight someone over rights to lick the pot!

Now just pour the icing over the still warm cake, and let the cake cool a little so you don´t burn your tongue – then eat!

However, make sure you give some of the cake away, because believe me: if the pan is sitting in the kitchen with a knife next to the half that is left, covered with aluminum foil, i need to borrow Steve Irwin´s “DANGER DANGER DANGER!” That cake will be gone in 24 hours!

3 thoughts on “4-clover chocolate cake (“Firkløverkake”)

  1. Det må du gjør, Anette!!

    I got a tip from my aunt here a couple of days ago… she splits the batter in half before adding the cinnamon. She then adds cinnamon (and maybe even some ground cloves and cranberries) to one half and 3-4 TS of cocoa powder to the other half, bake them side by side in the oven… and voila, you got yourself two cakes!! 😀 Kill two cakes with one stone, so to speak…

Leave a Reply

